Log in

Rule of the Day - Does this ever happen?

October 25, 2016 6:05 AM | Deleted user

Rule of the Day - Does This Ever Happen?


SIX IN GAME

SITUATION: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is ruled. A6 ­properly reports and enters the game. A time-out request is granted to Team B. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials: (a) recognize that A has six players competing, but cannot get the clock stopped; or (b) do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court. RULING?

In (a), since one of the officials had knowledge that Team A had six players participating simultaneously and this was detected prior to time expiring, a technical foul is assessed against Team A. In (b), since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.


OUT OF TIME-OUTS

SITUATION: A1 requests and Team A is granted a time-out late in the fourth quarter. Team A had already used its three 60-second time-outs and its two 30-second time-outs. RULING?

Team A is granted the time-out and is charged with a technical foul. No indirect foul is charged to the head coach.


Sponsors & Partners 




Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software