Log in

Rule of the Day - 10 seconds

December 16, 2017 5:30 AM | Deleted user

PLAY A A1 is in A’s backcourt and has dribbled for nine seconds and then passes the ball forward towards A2 in the frontcourt. While the ball is in the air traveling from backcourt to frontcourt, the 10-second count is reached. 

  • RULING: Violation by Team A as the ball has not gained frontcourt location. It is B’s ball for a throw-in from the out-of-bounds spot closest to where A1 released the ball on the pass toward A2. (4-3; 7-5-2)


PLAY B: Team A has control of the ball for eight seconds in A’s backcourt when A1 passes the ball toward Team A’s frontcourt. The official’s count ­continues. The ball strikes the floor in A’s frontcourt and stays there without being touched by any player. Should the count continue after the ball touches in frontcourt? 

  • RULING: No. The backcourt count should be terminated as soon as the ball has frontcourt location by touching the floor in Team A’s frontcourt. (4-4-1; 4-4-2)


PLAY C: After A1 has dribbled for nine seconds in A’s backcourt: (a) A1 requests a time-out; or (b) B1 deflects the ball out of bounds. 

  • RULING: In both (a) and (b), Team A will have 10 seconds to advance the ball to frontcourt following the throw-in if a player of Team A gains control in A’s backcourt.


PLAY D: Team A is in control in its backcourt for seven seconds. A1 throws the ball toward A2 in the frontcourt. B1 jumps from Team A’s: (a) frontcourt; or (b) backcourt and while in the air bats the ball back to A1 in A’s backcourt. Does this give Team A 10 more seconds to get the ball to the frontcourt? 

  • RULING: Yes, in (a), a new count starts because B1 had frontcourt location when touching the ball thus giving the ball frontcourt location. In (b), the original count continues as Team A is still in control and the ball has not gone to frontcourt. (4-4-2; 4-3; 4-35-1)


Sponsors & Partners 




Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software